Product Reviews

💋 NARS LIP PENCIL REVIEW💋

Screen Shot 2016-08-24 at 09.50.45

As you can tell by the title, today I decided to do a review on a little set from NARS that I received from Sephora when it was my birthday. It contains two lip pencils – one matte,  and one satin, with both being beautiful.

I know if you’re from the U.S. this post won’t be a surprise to you if you shop at Sephora, however in the U.K. there’s no Sephora (💔) and there’s not really any samples like this from NARS (well, unless you purchase them but they’ll set you back a pretty penny).

So I therefore hope that for anyone who has ever been intrigued by the NARS matte and satin lip pencils, this post is of some help!


Packaging:

I won’t go too in-depth regarding packaging, because it follows the same formula of most NARS products – the matte, black casing that is forever getting dirty with fingerprint marks. However, I do really like that instead of a little sticker on the end with the colour/shade on, it’s actually incorporated into the packaging itself, making it much easier to store vertically. Also, since I got it from Sephora, I received it in a little gift box that displays an image of some lips and the NARS/Sephora logo, as you can see below.

IMG_5879.jpg


Applicator:

Something I wanted to address was a common misconception I’ve found with these products. Some people think that the tiny nib of product at the end is the amount of product you get, full stop. Other people thought they were twist ups, only to be thoroughly disappointed. No no no, these are matte and satin lip pencils. So, what do you do with pencils?  You sharpen them. Ever wondered when in your life you’d use that other huge hole in your pencil sharpener, that seemed 10 times bigger than the average pencil? They fit these perfectly.

IMG_5880


Size/Amount of Product:

The Velvet Matte Lip Pencil comes in at 1.8g, whilst the Satin Lip Pencil is 1.7g. I have no idea why there’s a grams difference, but despite this they are amazing sample sizes and most definitely will last you a good while.

The full size products however come in at 2.4g which is less than half bigger than the samples I received, showing how amazing the sample size is.


Shades:

The shades I have are:

  • Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in ‘Cruella’ (Deep red)
  • Satin Lip Pencil in ‘Rikugien’ (Nudey Pink with subtle silver glitter)

The pencils actually come in 3 different types of finishes, Velvet Matte, Velvet Gloss and Satin which are all pretty self explanatory.


Pigment/Swatches:

Both lip pencils are pigmented, with the matte definitely being the most given it’s formula. The satin is slightly more sheer yet shiny and feels more gentle and moisturising on the lips.

IMG_5878

(L-R Rikugien, Cruella)


Price/Where to buy:

The prices of the lip pencils are universally £20 in most stores/online shops.

However, I found on ASOS that the prices differ. The Velvet Mattes are the usual price at £20, the Satin are £19, whilst the gloss are £17.50. (I’d definitely get mine off ASOS for this reason).


Overall Thoughts:

Given that they’re enriched with vitamin E, it’s no wonder these are so comfortable to wear. I prefer the satin, just because they feel a lot softer and more moisturising although this compromises staying power. The matte definitely lasts longer, especially due to it’s deep colour, but still remain easy to wear on the lips. I’m really impressed with these lip pencils and the formula and I know I’ll definitely get my wear out of them.


I hope you enjoyed today’s review! Let me know if you’ve got any NARS lip pencils! What are your opinions on them?

Love, Georgia xx

 

🎀

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “💋 NARS LIP PENCIL REVIEW💋

  1. This was so good! I really want to try these and I live in the UK so there is no Sephora and it’s so annoying! I ask have a beauty blog if you were interested? Great post xo

    Like

      1. I make orders sometime off the Sephora website when things get released there that aren’t here, usually the Sephora exclusives. I had to pay for all the shipping and customs unfortunately, but it was just a gift added onto my order as I did it during my birthday month Xx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Aw right nice u don’t think my bank account would approve of the customs and stuff but I am going abroad next year so I hope there will be a Sephora! X

        Like

Leave a comment