Dupes · Latest Posts · Product Reviews

✨Nars Orgasm Blush & Lipgloss Dupe?✨

Screen Shot 2016-08-29 at 09.56.58.png

I love NARS.

I really do. However something I’ve never invested in from the brand has been the notorious ‘Orgasm’ Blush. It looks pretty, sure, but:

  1. I’m not much of a blush wearer
  2. When I do wear it (once/twice a week), I’m very specific as to what colours I wear
  3. It’s pretty darn expensive for a blush containing only 4.8g of product (£21.50)

Recently, they released a limited edition of the blush, containing 8g for £28, but unless you want to pay for the bigger packaging or you’re just a collector, I think I have a really nice alternative for you.

Of course, NARS have also extended the orgasm range, with an orgasm and super orgasm lipgloss and multiple, as well as illuminators. Bearing this in mind, I think I’ve found a nice little dupe for the lipgloss, so stay tuned to find out what it is.


A Quick Overview:

The two products are relatively quite affordable. The blusher is from TheBalm, called ‘Hot Mama!’ and it’s a product that I received and was immediately reminded of orgasm, but more like orgasm’s peachier sister. TheBalm is a little bit of an in-between brand, as it’s slightly more expensive than drugstore products but you don’t have to fork out as much as you would with a high-end product.

The lipgloss is by the brand 17, which is pretty cheap in the UK. It’s known for being inexpensive and I was pleasantly surprised with this lipgloss, and again when I swatched it, it reminded me of orgasm in gloss form.


Packaging:

TheBalm’s Hot Mama Shadow and Blush:

TheBalm’s blushers, and products in general, always come packaged really cute. They look like tiny book, with an identical protective slip to keep the product intact from any damage, and I love the vintage style. This blush has a different image to the other blushes, and the theme continues across their entire brand of products, which are styled beautifully making the brand unique and really appealing for this reason.

17 Lip Lustre Gloss:

The packaging isn’t anything special really, but for the price you can’t really complain. It’s simple, sleek and you could possibly say it’s imitating NARS slightly with the rectangular, matte black lid, but other than that it’s just a basic lip gloss. It does the job and is very handy for throwing into your handbag on the go.

IMG_6186


Size/Amount of Product:

TheBalm’s Hot Mama Shadow and Blush:

This blusher contains 7.08g of product, so only 0.92g less than the limited edition Orgasm blush that costs £28! It’s also about 3g more than the usual size of NARS’ blushers, so overall you’re getting a really good amount of product.

17 Lip Lustre Gloss:

This little lipgloss contains 1.2ml which isn’t a crazy amount, but it’s a nice size to throw in your handbag and lasts quite a while, dependant on whether you’d use it constantly. The full size however, I’m not so sure about. I’ve looked on several sites and pictures of the products and can’t find a definite amount, so the best option is to go in store.


Shades/Swatches:

TheBalm’s Hot Mama Shadow and Blush:

Firstly, I’m sorry for the picture below as the blusher appears way darker than intended (it was a bad lighting day) but you will get a true feel of it’s colour on the swatch image.

The shade of this blush, of course, is being featured on my blog because it resembles NARS orgasm. I personally believe this is slightly peachier, and that Orgasm is a deeper pink, but other than that they have the same qualities. It’s smooth, creamy and very pigmented so you must be careful with your brush when applying this – always tap off excess!! It’s an amazing rose gold blush, with a peachy-pink base and golden reflects, making the cheeks look radiant and lifted when applied.

IMG_6188

17 Lip Lustre Gloss:

For some reason, this gloss doesn’t have a shade! This makes me so angry, because I received it in a set of 7 miniature glosses – isn’t the idea that you enjoy the sample you receive, so you then go back and purchase the full size? Well how can I with no shade name!!? Anyway… Apart from this issue, this shade is beautiful. It’s a sheer, peachy-gloss, with golden reflects (so basically how I described the blush but in gloss form). It’s not too sticky, and I personally find the glosses very comfortable to wear. They aren’t intended to be really pigmented, but act more of a lipstick topper (apart from a red shade I own, that’s unbelievably pigmented and glossy!) however I often wear them alone or with a bit of lipliner to enhance my lips naturally without wanting to look too obvious.

IMG_6187

As you can see by the swatch below, the blush is pretty pigmented, and as the shade isn’t very garish, it’s not too ‘in your face’. The lipgloss is also evidently very pretty, and you can most definitely make out the golden glitters within the gloss.

IMG_6189

( I’m also aware that the Sleek Blush in ‘Rose Gold’ is another great dupe, but I never bought it as I don’t tend to buy makeup products or shades that I already have. However, it is another great alternative. )


Price/Where to Buy:

TheBalm’s Hot Mama Shadow and Blush:

Currently, TheBalm’s Hot Mama retails for several different prices. In higher end retailers like Debenhams it’s £15, and surprisingly it’s the same price in Superdrug which I didn’t expect.

However, on Feelunique.com it’s £12.75 as there’s a sale on, so I’m going to give you the link to it here, because I assume everyone will want the cheapest option, as we’re always looking for a bargain.

17 Lip Lustre Gloss:

17 is sold at boots, and currently the full size lip glosses retail for £3.99 each, which is a great price. You would have to go in store and swatch to find this shade, but I highly recommend you do as you might find some other great colours. You can find it here.

IMG_6185


Thanks for reading!

Love, Georgia xx

 

🎀

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “✨Nars Orgasm Blush & Lipgloss Dupe?✨

      1. The price went up?! I haven’t noticed a change here…. In the USA but that’s a bummer!!!! I think I use it more than one of my target blushes…. Which is crazy.

        Like

      2. That’s ridiculous!!! I would be mad too! Since I started blogging, I’ve realized how much the brands carried regularly in the USA and the U.K. Differ. I never gave it much thought before.

        Like

Leave a comment